Our Blog


The clarion call on University of Ibadan alumni to look back and give back has again been obeyed as another alumnus of the University ,Mr Yemi Abe, returned to commence the construction of a 200-bed hostel in the University. Mr Abe, who is the Chairman of HYPEARCH O.A. Nigeria Ltd, said he was motivated by the need to ease the problem of student accommodation on the campus having experienced the same problem as a student of the University. Mr Abe who commended the Public Private Partnership initiative of the University noted that the initiative has been effectively and successfully optimized, especially in relation to provision of students' accommodation in UI. Welcoming Mr Abe and other guests to the ground breaking ceremony, the Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Babatunde Ekanola expressed delight at the level of success attained by Mr Abe since his graduation from the University, affirming that the success of graduates of the University was, by extension, the success of the University. The Acting Vice-Chancellor appreciated Mr Abe's thoughtfulness in looking back to give back to his alma mater with a charge to other well meaning alumni of the University to emulate this worthy gesture. Professor Ekanola reiterated the University's determination to solve the problem of student accommodation on the University campus through the PPP initiative. According to him, the inadequate students accommodation affects the number of students admitted by the University in the face of numerous applications received annually. He therefore called on well meaning Nigerians, especially UI alumni to emulate Mr Abe in other to give many more students the opportunity for admission into the University. Accompanying the VC on the ground breaking ceremony were the Registrar, Mrs Olubunmi O. Faluyi, represented by the the Deputy Registrar, VC's office, Mr Oluwole Dada, the Director of works, Engr. Olufemi Adetolu, the Director, Physical Planning, Mr Samuel Olaniyan, the Director, UAC, Mr A.A. Adeosun, the Director, Directorate of Public Communication, Mr O. M. Oladejo, among others.